Form ABC-248 "Wine Direct Shipper Permit Application" - California

What Is Form ABC-248?

This is a legal form that was released by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control - a government authority operating within California. As of today, no separate filing guidelines for the form are provided by the issuing department.

Form Details:

  • Released on July 1, 2019;
  • The latest edition provided by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control;
  • Easy to use and ready to print;
  • Quick to customize;
  • Compatible with most PDF-viewing applications;
  • Fill out the form in our online filing application.

Download a fillable version of Form ABC-248 by clicking the link below or browse more documents and templates provided by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Download Form ABC-248 "Wine Direct Shipper Permit Application" - California

1188 times
Rate (4.6 / 5) 71 votes
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
State of California
WINE DIRECT SHIPPER PERMIT APPLICATION
Submit this form to the Department of ABC, Attn: Licensing, 3927 Lennane Drive, Suite 100,
RECEIPT NUMBER
Sacramento, CA 95834. Include with application:
• Copy of current winery license
AMOUNT PAID
• Fees include a non-refundable application fee of $100 and the annual fee of $10 in check or
money order form
• Copy of Federal Basic Permit
$110.00
1. APPLICANT NAME(S) (This should be the same as the name on the winery license)
2. PHONE NUMBER (Including area code)
3. PREMISES ADDRESS (Street number and name, city, state and zip code)
4. BUSINESS NAME (DBA)
5. BUSINESS MAILING ADDRESS (If different from #2 above) (Street number and name, city, state and zip code)
6. EMAIL ADDRESS
7. STATE WHERE CURRENTLY LICENSED
8. LICENSE NUMBER
9. EXPIRATION DATE
10. TYPE OF LICENSE ISSUED (EX. WINEGROWER)
11. BONDED WINERY NUMBER
12. AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE
13. PRINTED NAME
14. DATE SIGNED
FOR ABC USE ONLY
ATTACHMENTS RECEIVED
Copy of current alcoholic beverage license
Payment
Copy of Federal Basic Permit
RECOMMENDATION
REVIEWED BY
DATE APPLICATION ACCEPTED
Approved
Denied
Business and Professions Code Section 23661.3
(a) Notwithstanding any law, rule, or regulation to the contrary, any person
(8) Be deemed to have consented to the jurisdiction of the department or any
other state agency and the California courts concerning enforcement of this
currently licensed in this state or any other state as a winegrower who obtains a
section any related laws, rules, or regulations.
wine direct shipper permit pursuant to this section may sell and ship wine directly to
(c) A wine direct shipper permitholder located outside of the state may
a resident of California, who is at least 21 years of age, for the resident's personal
annually renew its permit with the department by paying an annual fee as
use and not for resale.
specified in subdivision (b), and adjusted pursuant to subdivisions(d) and (e)
of Section 23320 and providing the department with a true copy of its current
Before sending any shipment to a resident of California, the wine direct shipper
alcoholic beverage license issued by another state. A wine direct shipper
permitholder must:
permitholder located in California shall renew its wine direct shipper permit
(1) File an application with the department.
in conjunction with its master license. For purposes of this section, "master
license" means a winegrower's license issued by the department.
(2) Pay the application fee as specified in subdivision (a) of Section 23320 if the
(d) The department and the State Board of Equalization may promulgate rules
winegrower is not currently licensed by the department.
and regulations to effectuate the purposes of this law.
(3) Provide the department its California alcoholic beverage license number or a
(e) The department may enforce the requirements of this section by
administrative proceedings to suspend or revoke the wine direct shipper
true copy of its current alcoholic beverage license issued by another state.
permit, and the department may accept payment of an offer in compromise in
(4) Obtain from the department a wine direct shipper permit.
lieu of suspension as provided by this division. Any hearing held pursuant to
(5) Obtain a seller's permit or register with the State Board of Equalization pursuant
Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2
to Part 1 (commencing with Section 6001) of Division 2 of the Revenue and
of the Government Code against a permitholder outside of California shall be
Taxation Code.
held in Sacramento.
(b) A wine direct shipper permit authorizes the permitholder to do all of
(f) Sales and shipments of wine direct to consumers in California from
winegrowers who do not possess a current wine direct shipper permit from
the following:
the department are prohibited. Any person who knowingly makes,
(1) Sell and ship wine to any person 21 years of age or older for his or her personal
participates in, transports, imports, or receives such a shipment is guilty of a
use and not for resale.
misdemeanor pursuant to Section 25617.
(2) Ship wine directly to a resident in this state only in containers that are
conspicuously labeled with the words: "CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE
OF PERSON AGE 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY."
(3) Ship wine only if the permitholder requires the carrier to obtain the signature of
any individual 21 years of age or older before delivering any wine shipped to an
individual in this state.
(4) If the permitholder is located outside of this state, report to the department no
later than January 31 of each year, the total amount of wine shipped into the state
during the preceding calendar year under the wine direct shipper permit.
(5) If the permitholder is located outside of this state, pay to the State Board of
Equalization all sales and use taxes, and excise taxes on sales to residents of
California under the wine direct shipper permit. For excise tax purposes, all wine
sold pursuant to a direct shipper permit shall be deemed sold in this state.
(6) If located within this state, provide the department any necessary additional
information not currently provided to ensure compliance with this section.
(7) Permit the department or the State Board of Equalization to perform an audit of
the wine direct shipper permitholder's records upon request.
ABC-248 (rev. 07-19)
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control
State of California
WINE DIRECT SHIPPER PERMIT APPLICATION
Submit this form to the Department of ABC, Attn: Licensing, 3927 Lennane Drive, Suite 100,
RECEIPT NUMBER
Sacramento, CA 95834. Include with application:
• Copy of current winery license
AMOUNT PAID
• Fees include a non-refundable application fee of $100 and the annual fee of $10 in check or
money order form
• Copy of Federal Basic Permit
$110.00
1. APPLICANT NAME(S) (This should be the same as the name on the winery license)
2. PHONE NUMBER (Including area code)
3. PREMISES ADDRESS (Street number and name, city, state and zip code)
4. BUSINESS NAME (DBA)
5. BUSINESS MAILING ADDRESS (If different from #2 above) (Street number and name, city, state and zip code)
6. EMAIL ADDRESS
7. STATE WHERE CURRENTLY LICENSED
8. LICENSE NUMBER
9. EXPIRATION DATE
10. TYPE OF LICENSE ISSUED (EX. WINEGROWER)
11. BONDED WINERY NUMBER
12. AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE
13. PRINTED NAME
14. DATE SIGNED
FOR ABC USE ONLY
ATTACHMENTS RECEIVED
Copy of current alcoholic beverage license
Payment
Copy of Federal Basic Permit
RECOMMENDATION
REVIEWED BY
DATE APPLICATION ACCEPTED
Approved
Denied
Business and Professions Code Section 23661.3
(a) Notwithstanding any law, rule, or regulation to the contrary, any person
(8) Be deemed to have consented to the jurisdiction of the department or any
other state agency and the California courts concerning enforcement of this
currently licensed in this state or any other state as a winegrower who obtains a
section any related laws, rules, or regulations.
wine direct shipper permit pursuant to this section may sell and ship wine directly to
(c) A wine direct shipper permitholder located outside of the state may
a resident of California, who is at least 21 years of age, for the resident's personal
annually renew its permit with the department by paying an annual fee as
use and not for resale.
specified in subdivision (b), and adjusted pursuant to subdivisions(d) and (e)
of Section 23320 and providing the department with a true copy of its current
Before sending any shipment to a resident of California, the wine direct shipper
alcoholic beverage license issued by another state. A wine direct shipper
permitholder must:
permitholder located in California shall renew its wine direct shipper permit
(1) File an application with the department.
in conjunction with its master license. For purposes of this section, "master
license" means a winegrower's license issued by the department.
(2) Pay the application fee as specified in subdivision (a) of Section 23320 if the
(d) The department and the State Board of Equalization may promulgate rules
winegrower is not currently licensed by the department.
and regulations to effectuate the purposes of this law.
(3) Provide the department its California alcoholic beverage license number or a
(e) The department may enforce the requirements of this section by
administrative proceedings to suspend or revoke the wine direct shipper
true copy of its current alcoholic beverage license issued by another state.
permit, and the department may accept payment of an offer in compromise in
(4) Obtain from the department a wine direct shipper permit.
lieu of suspension as provided by this division. Any hearing held pursuant to
(5) Obtain a seller's permit or register with the State Board of Equalization pursuant
Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2
to Part 1 (commencing with Section 6001) of Division 2 of the Revenue and
of the Government Code against a permitholder outside of California shall be
Taxation Code.
held in Sacramento.
(b) A wine direct shipper permit authorizes the permitholder to do all of
(f) Sales and shipments of wine direct to consumers in California from
winegrowers who do not possess a current wine direct shipper permit from
the following:
the department are prohibited. Any person who knowingly makes,
(1) Sell and ship wine to any person 21 years of age or older for his or her personal
participates in, transports, imports, or receives such a shipment is guilty of a
use and not for resale.
misdemeanor pursuant to Section 25617.
(2) Ship wine directly to a resident in this state only in containers that are
conspicuously labeled with the words: "CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE
OF PERSON AGE 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY."
(3) Ship wine only if the permitholder requires the carrier to obtain the signature of
any individual 21 years of age or older before delivering any wine shipped to an
individual in this state.
(4) If the permitholder is located outside of this state, report to the department no
later than January 31 of each year, the total amount of wine shipped into the state
during the preceding calendar year under the wine direct shipper permit.
(5) If the permitholder is located outside of this state, pay to the State Board of
Equalization all sales and use taxes, and excise taxes on sales to residents of
California under the wine direct shipper permit. For excise tax purposes, all wine
sold pursuant to a direct shipper permit shall be deemed sold in this state.
(6) If located within this state, provide the department any necessary additional
information not currently provided to ensure compliance with this section.
(7) Permit the department or the State Board of Equalization to perform an audit of
the wine direct shipper permitholder's records upon request.
ABC-248 (rev. 07-19)

Browse Form ABC-248 by Year